Advocacy Toolkit (coming soon)

Tools created exclusively for members to aid with advocacy efforts

We want to help empower our members to advocate on behalf of themselves and the sector to government, the media and the public.

This forthcoming Advocacy Toolkit contains several tools which are created in a generic way so they can be fit-for-purpose for any advocacy you might be undertaking. At times, we will also develop tools for advocacy relating to specific campaigns, like the 2023 State Election. We will contact you with further details about the launch of the Advocacy Toolkit in the coming weeks.


Community Housing 101

An infographic document providing a simple explanation of what community housing is.

Crafting media releases and alerts

A document with tips and templates for crafting media releases and alerts.

Tips for Facebook engagement

Tips on how best to engage your communities on Facebook

Engaging local media

A checklist of steps for engaging local media

Engaging with Ministers and Members of Parliament Offices

Our suggested best practice for engaging with parliamentarians

Community Housing Snapshot 2022

The latest stats and figures relating to the NSW community housing industry


Email us

Community Housing Workforce Capability Framework

CHIA NSW would like to acknowledge the funds provided by the NSW Department of Communities and Justice (DCJ) to help develop this report under the NSW Community Housing Industry Development Strategy. The IDS is a partnership between CHIA NSW and DCJ.


Contact us

CHIA NSW social media assets/collateral

Social media assets and collateral compiled conveniently for member use

We encourage you to use these content assets in your own social media advocacy.


Download the assets by clicking on the images below. When you are taken to the next page, right-click and select ‘Save image/video as’.


Animation showing community housing development over past decade

Social housing waitlist graphic

Social housing waitlist graphic (text-heavy)

Value of community housing animation

Regional NSW vacancy rates graphic

Flood relief animation

CHIA NSW 3-point plan animation

Graphic created for Community Housing Snapshot launch 1

Graphic created for Community Housing Snapshot launch 2

Graphic created for Community Housing Snapshot launch 1

Looking for something we’ve posted on our socials?

Email us

Member-exclusive Meltwater subscription offer

CHIA NSW has a subscription contract with Meltwater who provide a media monitoring service. We’ve discussed with Meltwater being able to offer the service to our members who can tack onto our subscription service as listeners at a significantly reduced rate. This is how it works:

CHIA NSW maintains its usual account as the admin, setting the search keywords that end up dictating which media articles and social media posts (containing those keywords) are collected. This comes through as a twice-daily media digest. These key search terms are:

Community Housing/NSW/Mark Degotardi (news and social)

Housing affordability and supply (news)

Members – this search contains the name of each organisation within CHIA NSW’s membership (news and socials) so you would see whenever your organisation is mentioned across news or socials.

CHIA NSW (news and social)

Regional housing (news)

Community Housing Innovation Fund

Michele Adair (CHIA NSW’s Chair) (social and news)

The cost for members is $825 (incl. GST) per year for a Listener licence which grants access to the digest reports which come out twice daily and collects all media (news and socials) relevant to those searches. Every article (except those from the Aus Financial Review) can be accessed regardless of paywall restrictions. See images below for how these digest reports look.

Members can discuss with CHIA NSW if they are looking for particular search terms to be changed or added, however, there is limited flexibility due to CHIA NSW having already set the maximum number of search terms.

If your organisations was to take up the offer, CHIA NSW will arrange this with Meltwater, pay the $825 fee and invoice you.

To express interest or get more information, please contact Media and Communications Adviser, Josh Appleton at [email protected].

Meltwater digest report – directory in email
Meltwater digest report – how article links look